Utah County offers several tax relief programs. Individuals that qualify for one or more of these programs could see a minor to significant reduction of their property taxes.
All tax relief programs, except for the Disabled Veteran / Killed-in-Action exemption, require a new application to be submitted every year to qualify.
Apply for Tax Relief
Utah County administers five property tax relief programs authorized by the Utah State legislature. Seniors, age 65 and older, permanently disabled individuals, individuals experiencing severe financial hardship, active duty members of the armed forces, disabled members of the armed forces, and individuals who are blind may qualify for some form of relief. Information about the programs and their qualification requirements are listed below.
If you have questions about any of the programs or need a paper application, contact the Tax Relief team at 801-851-8110, opt 3, then opt 1. You can also send an email to taxrelief@utahcounty.gov.
Deadline to Apply: September 1, 2026 for all tax relief programs except the Disabled Veteran / Killed-in-Action exemption.
Late Petitions
Applications submitted after the deadline are considered late, except for the Disabled Veteran / Killed-in-Action exemption. If you have an extraordinary and unanticipated circumstance that prevented you from filing on time, you may use the Late Petition form (PDF) (opens in a new tab) to request an extension of the deadline.
Late Petitions may be emailed to taxrelief@utahcounty.gov, or delivered to:
Utah County Auditor, Tax Relief,100 East Center St, Suite 3600,
Provo, Utah 84606.
Tax Relief Programs
Requirements:
- Active or recently discharged members of the Armed Forces.
- Must have completed 200 days of active deployment outside of the State of Utah within a single year or one 365-day period.
- Application for exemption cannot be submitted and approved until the year after the year the deployment was completed (a deployment completed in 2025 can be used for 2026 exemption qualification).
- Subject property must be the applicant's current primary residence.
Deadline to Apply:
- September 1st of the year following qualifying tax year.
Requirements:
- Applicants must be declared legally blind by a licensed ophthalmologist.
- Also available to the unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphaned child of a blind person.
Deadline to Apply:
- September 1st.
- December 31st upon approval of late petition for extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances.
Requirements:
- Applicants for Circuit Breaker must be 67 years of age or older on or before December 31, or a widow/widower of any age.
- Applicants for County Indigent must be 65 years of age or older on or before December 31.
- For both programs the total annual household income may not exceed $44,221, as per 2025 Income Tax filing.
- Applicants must provide proof of household income by submitting copies of income tax returns, 1099 forms, or other income documents. First time applicants who are not required to file a tax return will be required to provide a Wage and Income Transcript (opens in a new tab) to show all income reported to the IRS in 2025.
- For county Indigent, applicants may not have liquid assets exceeding $11,400, plus the total amount of their prior year's property taxes.
Deadline to Apply:
- September 1st.
- December 31st upon approval of a late petition for extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances.
Requirements:
- Applicants must be 75 years of age or older on or before December 31.
- The total annual household income may not exceed $88,442, as per 2025 Income Tax filing.
- Applicants need to affirm one of two conditions: the subject property has been their personal primary residence for 20+ years, or the total market value of the subject property is below the county 2025 median value — $551,100 for detached residential properties (a standalone single-family home on un-shared land) and $379,100 for attached residential properties (duplexes, condos, townhomes).
- Applicants' total gross liquid assets must be equal to or below 20 times the amount of their 2025 total assessed property taxes. If 2025 assessed property taxes were $2,000, the liquid asset limit is $40,000.
- For any property still encumbered by a primary lien — any mortgage, home equity loan, or line of credit — applicants must get authorization from every lienholder before a deferral can be granted.
- Approved applications will result in the county placing a Tax Lien on the property for the duration of the deferral.
- Applicants are required to renew their deferral every year.
Deadline to Apply, for both initial applications and renewals:
- September 1st.
- December 31st upon approval of a late petition for extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances.
Requirements:
- Honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces.
- Also available to the unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphaned child of a Disabled Veteran or Servicemember killed in the line of duty.
- Must have at least a 10% combined service rating or died in the line of duty.
- Qualifying applicants will only need to apply once, unless their service rating or personal status changes.
Deadline to Apply:
- September 1st.
- Late by September 1st of the following year with qualifying effective date of disability.
Exemption Benefit:
- Maximum annual benefit for 2026 is $535,459 for Disabled Veterans.
- Individual annual benefit is determined by a qualifying veteran's combined service rating.
- The Killed-in-Action benefit exempts qualified individuals from all property taxes for their primary residence.
Requirements:
- Honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces.
- Also available to the unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphaned child of a Disabled Veteran or Servicemember killed in the line of duty.
- Must have at least a 10% combined service rating or died in the line of duty.
- Vehicle title must be in the name of the qualifying veteran, surviving spouse, or minor child.
- Must be applied for annually with the vehicle registration renewal.
Deadline to Apply:
- Must be applied for no more than 6 months before or after the due date for the registration renewal.